LRSD Community Advisory Board


Information from Arkansas Department of Education Regarding LRSD Community Advisory Board

LRSD Community Advisory Board Members

The State Board of Education approved in July the list of candidates recommended by Commissioner Johnny Key to serve as LRSD Community Advisory Board (CAB) members.  The CAB consists of representatives from each of the seven (7) LRSD school zones.  Members and their zones are listed below:

LaShannon Spencer – Zone 1
Maria Chavarria-Garcia – Zone 2
Melanie Fox – Zone 3
Jeff Wood – Zone 4
Jocelyn Craig - Zone 5
Anthony Hampton – Zone 6
Michael Mason - Zone 7

Members will serve under the supervision and direction of the commissioner until LRSD is returned to local control, or until the State Board annexes, consolidates, or reconstitutes the school district.  The CAB will meet monthly with the superintendent, conduct hearings and make recommendations for student and personnel hearings, build community capacity, and submit reports to the State Board and Commissioner of Education.  Meetings will be held in the LRSD Student Center, 810 W. Markham, on the fourthThursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. (Exceptions may occur when the normal meeting date falls during a week when the District is closed.  Any changes to the date, time or location will be announced.)

CAB Information

Presentation to LRSD CAB by Dr. Richard Wilde - Click on link to view presentation

Please read the information in the following attachments from the Arkansas Department of Education regarding estabishing a Little Rock School District Community Advisory Board.  This information is in English and Spanish.

Little Rock School District Community Advisory Board

Little Rock School District Community Advisory Board Spanish

In order to help provide clarification about the roles of the various committees, the ADE also released this document.