ViPS Awards 2005

Volunteers in LRSD schools contributed a remarkable 564,268.50 hours of service between March 1, 2004 and February 28, 2005, representing a monetary value to the district of over $9,500,000.

School Awards:

Each year, schools are recognized for their outstanding volunteer hours. These awards are in honor of the many volunteers, school employees and parents who work together to form winning schools.

Elementary School Top Performers:

On the elementary level there were two schools topping the charts this year.
Reporting over 33,000 volunteer service hours and averaging 54 hours per student, Booker Arts Magnet Elementary School!

Averaging 56 hours per student and reporting 31,000 volunteer service hours, Fulbright Elementary School.

Middle School Top Performer:

Pulaski Heights Middle School averaging 54 hours per student and reporting over 38,000 total hours for the year

High School Top Performers:

Central High School reporting over 65,000 hours and averaging 30 hours per student for the year.

50+ Award
Jefferson Elementary
Williams Elementary
Pulaski Heights Elementary

40+ Award

Dunbar Middle School
Forest Park Elementary

30+ Award

Carver Elementary
Mabelvale Middle School

20+ Award

Western Hills Elementary  
Mann Middle School
Parkview High School
Accelerated Learning Center
Baseline Elementary School
Geyer Springs Elementary
McDermott Elementary
Rockefeller Elementary
Terry Elementary School
Gibbs Elementary School

10+ Award

Otter Creek Elementary  
Brady Elementary
Southwest Middle School
McClellan High School
Meadowcliff Elementary
King Elementary
Hall High School
Woodruff Elementary School
Bale Elementary School
Franklin Elementary School
Washington Elementary School
Watson Elementary School
Rightsell Elementary School
Forest Heights Middle School
Chicot Elementary
Stephens Elementary
Mitchell Elementary

Schools earning a 100% increase in their volunteer hours:

Pulaski Heights Middle School
Mitchell Elementary
Rightsell Elementary
McDermott Elementary
McClellan High School
Wakefield Elementary
Cloverdale Middle School
Hall High School
Central High School
Chicot Elementary
Watson Elementary
Meadowcliff Elementary and
Baseline Elementary

The Jane Mendel Award is named in honor of ViPS' founder. It is presented each year to a volunteer who has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to the Little Rock School District and its students. Nominees for the Mendel Award must have gone beyond volunteering for their children's schools. The winner should be an advocate who gives time and effort to the district as a whole. ViPS is proud to present the 2005 Jane Mendel Award to Thelma Jasper and Van Light.

The ViPS Awards honor outstanding volunteer service.
The winners are:

Partners in Education Awards
EDS, nominated by Fair Park Elemenatry
Alpha Phi Alpha, nominated by Franklin Elementary

Jane Mendel
Van Light (Central) and Thelma Jasper (Parkview)

School Volunteer
Karen Phelps (Carver) and Beverly Jones (Stephens)
School Volunteer
Marci Hall(Central) and Mike Rainey (Parkview)

Mary Katharyn Hope (Pulaski Heights Middle)

Special Champion Award
Clyde Horton (Central)

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity (Franklin)
Suzie James (Dunbar)

Tyler Fuller (Central)

The Dunbar Garden (Dunbar) and Abstinence by Choice

Immanuel Baptist (Terry) and