ViPS Awards 2010

Over 350 volunteers, Partners in Education, parents and district staff attended the event.

Ron Mc emceed the event.  Students from Hall High School and Hamilton ACC provided entertainment.
Ninety nominees were recognized and the ViPS Award winners were announced during the event.

2010 ViPS Award Winners

Jane Mendel Award:  Linda K. Smith, Central High School and Rita F. Qualls, J.A. Fair High School

Community Volunteer Award:  Rafael Vega, Wilson Elementary School; Nathanael Wills, Felder Learning Academy; Jim Sanders, Jefferson Elementary School

Staff Award:  Neva Johnson, Felder Learning Academy; Oscar Lester, Dodd Elementary

Parent Involvement Award: Project Graduation, Central High School; Loriee Evans, Gibbs Elementary School

Administrator Award:  Donna Hall, Otter Creek Elementary School

Community Resource Award:  Verizon Wireless, Central High School; UAMS House of Delegates, Woodruff Early Childhood Center; OK Program, Dunbar Middle and Central High Schools

Leadership Award:  Melissa Hawkins, Central High School; Eric and Sherrie McKisick, Hall High School; Lauren Wickersham, Carver Elementary School

Elementary Student Volunteer Award:  Megan Easter, Carver Magnet School; Janee Townsend, Stephens Elementary School

High School Student Volunteer Award:  Vanessa Pickett, McClellan High School

Elementary Educator Award:  Gene Williams, Carver Elementary School; Gloria Carroll, Franklin Elementary School

Secondary Educator Award:  Maurice Guest, Mann Middle School; The Memory Project—George West, Keith Richardson and Cynthia Nunnley, Central High School

Tutor Award:  Lisa Gondek, Terry Elementary School

Family School Volunteer Award:  Tonya Mitchell, King Elementary School; Tom and Angie King, Carver Elementary School; Beverly Jones, Central High School; Kendra Boyle, Dunbar Middle School

Partners in Education Award: Arkansas Sustainability Network, Felder Learning Academy; Transamerica Worksite Marketing, Dodd Elementary School

School Achievements:

ViPS recognizes schools for significant accomplishments and achievements reflective through volunteer service contributed on behalf of the school.   Thirty-five schools were recognized this year.

100% in volunteer service reported for the 2009-10 school year:

McDermott Elementary School
Wakefield Elementary School
Hall High School
King Elementary School
Chicot Primary School
Geyer Springs Elementary
Mabelvale Middle School
Forest Heights Middle School

10+ Award:  Schools reporting an average of 10 volunteer hours per student.

Accelerated Learning Center
Mabelvale Middle School
Dodd Elementary
Meadowcliff Elementary
Stephens Elementary
Fair Park Early Childhood Center
JA Fair High School
Mabelvale Elementary
Western Hills Elementary
Pulaski Heights Elementary
Hall High School
McDermott Elementary

20+ Award:  Schools reporting an average of 20 volunteer hours per student.
Gibbs Elementary
Dunbar Middle School
Mann Middle School
Franklin Elementary
Geyer Springs Elementary
McClellan High School

30+ Award: Schools reporting an average of 30 volunteer hours per student.
Chicot Primary School
King Elementary School

40+ Award:  Schools reporting an average of 40 volunteer hours per student.
Brady Elementary
Williams Elementary School
Wilson Elementary School
Woodruff Early Childhood Center

50+ Award:  Reporting an average of 50 volunteer hours or more per student.
Jefferson Elementary School
Carver Elementary School

60+ Awards:  Reporting an average of 60 volunteer hours or more per student.
Booker Elementary

80+ Award:  Reporting an average of 80 volunteer hours per student.
Forest Park Elementary

Top elementary school performer:
Fulbright Elementary School - reporting 70,558 total volunteer service hours, averaging 89 volunteer service hours per student.

Top middle school performers:
Pulaski Heights Middle School - reporting 29,977 volunteer hours, averaging 33 hours per student.

Top high school performer:  
Central High School - reporting 115,000 hours, averaging 50 hours per student.

Check here to view all of ViPS Award nominees.