ViPS Awards 2011

ViPS "An Evening for the Stars" volunteer reception was held on April 26th on the Philander Smith College Campus.  The 29th annual event was held to celebrate the hard-working volunteers, employees, and supporters of the Little Rock School District.

Dr. Morris Holmes, interim superintendent of schools, was presented a mock check by the ViPS Board of Directors President James Harris in the amount of $15,521,842 which represents the value of 726,678 hours of volunteer time served during the 2010-2011 school year.

Patty Bates Abraham (pictured), nominated by Forest Park Elementary School, was recognized with the 2011 Jane Mendel Award, the district's highest distinction in recognition of volunteer service.  

Evangeline Parker, community affairs coordinator for Comcast Communications emceed the awards portion of the program.

The following awards were presented:

Jane Mendel Award:

Patty Bates Abraham

Student Award:

Theresa Undiener

Tiger Readers of Central High School.  (Quincey Thomas, Dillon Kimes, Corey Adams, Hayden Peters, Nate Hebert, Lawrence Staggers and Walker Hawkins)

Partners in Education Award:

New Millennium Church

Community Resource Award:

Pulaski County Youth Services

Judge Dennis James

Leadership Award:

Michelle Odum

Sandy Becker

Tutor Award:

Betty Hanson

Mentor Award:

B.J. McCoy

St. Mark's Episcopal Church Amigos

Parent Involvement Award:

Fair Park ECC PTA Board (Jennie Kirby, Rick and Lindsey Lorence, Hope and Rob Wistrand, Kendra Booth, Trayce Young, Kelsey Bailey and Damon Meyer)

Western Hills Elementary PTA Board (Michael Woolfolk, Brandi Smith-Davison, Michelle Spencer-McElroy, Mary Thomas, Michelle Ellison, and Emily Hithe)

Grandparent Award :

Don Austin

Community School Volunteer Award:

Doyne Elder

Lula McCoy

Christopher Vanlandingham

Family Volunteer Award:

Kate Franks

Laura Spradley and Cindy Green

Samantha Martinez

Susan Johnson

Administrator Award:

Theresa Ketcher

Samuel Loya

Diane Barksdale

Suzanne Ross

Staff Award:

Bobbye Levy

Mildred Simmons

Kamesha Lindsey

Secondary Educator Award:

Martha Christie

Elementary Educator Award:

Lori Hoyt

Click here to view ViPS ad celebrating all award nominee and winners in the Arkansas Times, page 15!

School Recognitions:

100% Award:  Hamilton Learning Academy, Henderson Middle, Bale Elementary, Gibbs Elementary, Otter Creek Elementary, Rockefeller Elementary and Pulaski Heights Elementary schools.

10+ Award.  Bale Elementary, Gibbs Elementary, Otter Creek Elementary, Rockefeller Elementary, Western Hills Elementary, Dodd Elementary, Mabelvale Middle and Wilson Elementary schools

20+ Award:  Accelerated Learning Center, Hall High, Franklin Elementary, King Elementary, Terry Elementary, McDermott Elementary, McClellan High, Meadowcliff Elementary, Romine Elementary, Mabelvale Elementary schools

30+ Award: Woodruff Early Childhood Center and Dunbar Middle School

40+ Award: Chicot Primary and Roberts Elementary School

50+ Award:  Jefferson Elementary, Brady Elementary and Pulaski Heights Elementary schools

60+ Award: Booker Elementary and Williams Elementary schools

Exemplary Performance:

Central High School:  Allison Ingram, ViPS rep

103,896 service hours, averaging 45 hours per student

Pulaski Heights Middle School: Janis Thibault, ViPS rep

31,179 service hours averaging 39 service hours per student, the highest average at the middle school level.

Mann Middle School:  Lauren Wickersham and Susan Johnson ViPS reps

32,391 service hours averaging 38 hours per student

Forest Park Elementary: Catherine Summerlin, ViPS rep

Reporting 40,711 hours and averaging 90 hours per student

Carver Elementary: Ginny Belotti, ViPS rep.

Reporting 41,600 hours and averaging 92 per student

Fulbright Elementary: Tracy Jackson, ViPS rep

Reporting 53,853 hours and averaging 95 hours per student