Return to Headlines

LRCH Debate Team Continues Winning Ways at Arkansas Season Opener 2022

LRCH Debate Team Members

The LRCH Debate and Forensics team attended the 2022 Bentonville Tigers Eye Classic this past weekend, bringing home NINE FIRST PLACE trophies and THIRD PLACE LARGE SCHOOL SWEEPSTAKES OVERALL

Please join the District in congratulating the following FIRST PLACE WINNERS from the weekend:

Impromptu - Joie Willoughby 
Duet Improv - Joie Willoughby & Isabelle Elkins
Novice Congressional Debate - John (Blake) Davenport 
Varsity Congressional Debate - Beckett McCaslin
Thompson Novice IPDA - Olivia Crowley
Thompson Novice IPDA Top Speaker - Olivia Crowley
Woods Novice IPDA - Allie Mareen 
Woods Novice IPDA Top Speaker - Allie Mareen 
Varsity Lincoln Douglas - Michelle Gong 

Our competitors distinguished themselves across numerous events. A complete list of results is below.

Andie Bailey - 6th Place Impromptu 
Kaedan Hendrix - 6th Place Varsity Congressional Debate 
Luke Beck - 4th Place Extemporaneous Speaking
Kendall Cloar - 4th Place Varsity Congressional Debate
Ethan Davenport - 3rd Place Novice Congressional Debate 
Kevin Durden - 3rd Place Informative Speaking
Isabelle Elkins - 6th Place Humorous Interpretation 
Cameron Green/Kaedan Hendrix - 4th Place Duet Improv
Ryan Sibert - 5th Place Ham IPDA Debate
Ryan Sibert - 5th Place Ham IPDA Debate Speaker 
Joie Willoughby/Brooklyn Simpson - 2nd Place Mime 
Charles Swan - 3rd Place Varsity Lincoln Douglas 
Joie Willoughby - 4th Place Dramatic Song Lyric 
Maddox Hughes - 5th Place Novice Congress 
Amy Okanume - Semifinals Storytelling 
Matthew Hunter/Kai Fisher - Semifinals Duet Improv
Ethan Davenport/Blake Davenport - Semifinals Duet Improv 
Matthew Hunter - Semifinals Impromptu
Joie Willoughby - Semifinals Poetry 

The Bentonville tournament was LRCH's Arkansas Season Opener and was the first tournament ever for more than 40 participating students. LRSD is proud to celebrate this extraordinary accomplishment and of how these students represented Little Rock Central and the Little Rock School District.