Title 1 Home

  • What is Title 1?

    Improving the Academic Achievement of the Disadvantaged

    Title I, Part A of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA), as amended, provides financial assistance to local educational agencies (Little Rock School District) and schools with high numbers or high percentages of children from economically disadvantaged families to help ensure that all children meet challenging State academic standards. Federal funds are currently allocated through four statutory formulas that are based primarily on census poverty estimates and the cost of education in Arkansas. It was originally enacted as the cornerstone of President Lyndon Johnson’s War on Poverty.

     

    Family and Community Engagement Framework & Toolkit

Contact Us

  • LITTLE ROCK SCHOOL DISTRICT
    TITLE I OFFICE
    Henderson/Instructional Resource Center (IRC)
    401 John Barrow Road
    Little Rock, Arkansas  72205
    (501) 447-3350 (telephone) ~ (501) 447-3353 (fax)

    Dr. Sheketa McKisick, Title I/Federal Programs Coordinator
    (501) 447-3367 – sheketa.mckisick@lrsd.org

    Chandra Martin - Auxiliary Programs Manager
    501-447-3349 - chandra.martin@lrsd.org

    Kaye Rainey, Parent & Family Engagement District Specialist
    (501) 447-3358 - kaye.rainey@lrsd.org 

    Jana Hunter, Title I Family Coordinator
    (501) 447-3339 - jana.hunter@lrsd.org 

    Marisol Canchola, Title I Family Coordinator (Bilingual)
    (501) 447-3361 - marisol.canchola@lrsd.org

    Lisa Martin, Secretary/Bookkeeper
    (501) 447-3351 - lisa.martin@lrsd.org

    Katy Elliott, Grants Specialist
    (501) 447-3331 - katy.elliott@lrsd.org