Hall Warriors Visit Gibbs

On Friday, March 11, the Hall High Warriors and Hall High Lady Warriors visited students at Gibbs International Magnet School during the noon hour.

Head Coaches Jon Coleman and Selita Farr brought the teams including McDonald’s All Americans, Bobby Portis and Tyler Scaife, to talk with younger students about the importance of being a STUDENT athlete on any high school sports team. 

LRSD Celebrates “Theatre in our Schools” Month

March is Theatre in Our Schools month! LRSD has a proud history of providing drama opportunities for kindergarten though 12th grade students with drama programs in all five LRSD high schools and specialty programs in several middle and elementary schools. The Little Rock School District also offers more programs, productions, and courses than any surrounding school district.

According to Secretary of Education, Arne Duncan, “Our children must be allowed to develop their unique skills, interests, and talents. Let’s give them that opportunity.”

Theatre arts are an essential part of every child’s education, encouraging young people to develop greater artistic literacy, inspiring life-long creativity and involvement with the arts. Drama based activities provide an invaluable outlet for self-expression. Studying drama is beneficial for students and increases their capabilities for conflict resolution, social development, community connection, empathy, and self-control, as well as their understanding of other subjects, including English, math, social studies, and physical education.

See more about the benefits of Theatre in Education: http://www.parkviewtheatre.com/why-theatre.html

Coming Soon to LRSD:
Central High School: High School Musical March 26th - 28th
Parkview Arts / Science Magnet High School: Hairspray April 5th – 7th
J.A. Fair High School: Bull in a China Shop by C.B. Gilford April11th -12th

LRSD Student Art Selected for Arts Center Exhibition

LRSD students from three elementary schools and one high school were selected as winners at the 52nd Young Arkansas Artists Exhibition. Washington Elementary fourth grader, Jalesa Humphrey and Little Rock Central eleventh grader, Zach Blair, were selected as “Best of Class” for their grade level. Carver Magnet Elementary Kindergartener, Andrew Daniel, and Wakefield Elementary third grader, Ricardo Alvarez, both received Honorable Mention recognition for their grade level.

This year’s awards reception will be held at 2 p.m., Sunday, April 7th, in the Children's Theater, in conjunction with an Arts Center Family Festival.

Image #1 (top): Jalesa Humphrey—Washington Elementary (4th grade)
Image#2 : Zach Blair—Little Rock Central High (11th grade)

Image #3 (bottom left): Andrew Daniel—Carver Magnet Elementary (Kindergarten)
Image#4 (bottom right): Ricardo Alvarez— Wakefield Elementary (3rd grade)


Pulaski Heights Middle School Students Know History

Please congratulate the National History Day District 7 winners from Pulaski Heights. PHMS students won 13 awards and even swept one category, Historical Paper. Ms. Buford received the award for Outstanding Junior Division Teacher. Most of these students will move on to the state level competition on April 20, 2013 at UCA.

Historical Paper 1st – Alex Crawford, 2nd – Lillian Clement, 3rd – Angie Brown

Individual Performance 1st - Owen Kong-McLain

Documentary Honorable Mention – Stevie Wise

Individual Exhibit 1st – Jack Curtis

Group Exhibit 2nd – Makynzi Watson-Williams & Jordan Staggers, Honorable Mention – Tulshi Amin & Meredith Hatfield

Individual Website 1st Hannah Cozart, 2nd – Madeline Wood, Honorable Mention – Sam Griffin

Group Website 1st – Addison Stone, Alex Pickell, Elisabeth Bates; 3rd – Olivia Hope, Megan Sander, Riley Chafin

Double Spotlight for Gibbs Art Program

THEA FOUNDATION GIFT Gibbs Magnet Elementary School artists have been given a wonderful gift of art supplies! Herron Horton Architects founders, Jennifer Herron and Jeff Horton, made a generous donation to the Thea Foundation that was matched by the Foundation. Herron Horton Architects made the stipulation that the art support  go to Gibbs where both of their children attended school.

Hall High Hoops - Boys and Girls Teams Celebrate Wins at State Tourney

LRSD is proud to salute the Hall High Warriors girls and boys teams as they bounce to victory in State Championship play this past weekend.  Evan James, a senior guard, hit a 3-pointer after a nail-biter to secure Hall's 34-33 victory over Jonesboro in the Class 6A final.  The Lady Warriors also proved they could hold their own by defeating Parkview's Lady Patriots 56-45 in the Class 6A girls finals.  Standout senior Tyler Scaife led the Lady Warriors with 23 points.  Scaife and Bobby Portis, who had 10 points and 17 rebounds in Hall's boy's game, will represent the state in the McDonald's All American games next month. 

Central High Debate Students Raise the Bar, Again

Little Rock Central High School won first place in the Arkansas Bar Association's Regional High School Mock Trial Competition held March 2 in Ft. Smith. The tem advances to the state level in Little Rock on March 9, 2013, where they will vie for the opportunity to compete at the National High School Mock Trial Championship later this year in Indianapolis, Indiana.  Last year the Central High team won the State Championship and competed for the national title in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Little Rock Central High participants were Sarthak Garg, Ryan Gauger, Ian Goza, John Harpool, David Xiang, Joseph Hwang, Astha Mittal, Maddison Perry and Drew Ricciardone.Their sponsoring teacher was Kathleen Holladay and attorney coaches were Clarke Tucker and Matt Wells. Mrs. Melinda Bieth and Mr. Bob Goza assisted.

Lynn Lisk of Fort Smith, program director and assistant professor in the Legal Assistance/Paralegal Program at UAFS, said the competition teaches high school students about the legal system and how it works. He called the competition "an invaluable tool."

Hall's Mandy Nguyen Named Poetry Out Loud State Champ

Hall High’s School Champion, tenth grader Mandy Nguyen, won the title of Arkansas State Champion in the statewide Poetry Out Loud Contest held Saturday, March 2, 2013, at Pulaski Technical College Auditorium.  Nguyen along with Hall’s poetry coach, Ms. Georgia Walton, will travel to Washington, D.C., in April to represent Arkansas in the national contest. As the State champion, Mandy won a $200.00 first place prize and Hall won a $500.00 award for use on poetry related items. This is the third state level win for Hall High School and Ms. Walton, the only high school and poetry coach to have that distinction in the State. Three wins from a single high school and poetry coach is also believed to be a National distinction throughout the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico. Hall’s previous winners are the late Roshundalyn Scribner in 2006 and Temple Price in 2008.


Visitors & Former Students