Parkview Drama Teacher Spencer Sutterfield Honored as LRSD’s Top Educator

The Little Rock School District honored its best and brightest teachers with the annual Crystal Awards Gala Monday night at the Embassy Suites Hotel. Parkview Arts and Science Magnet High School Teacher Spencer Sutterfield was named Little Rock School District Teacher of the Year for 2015, earning the coveted Marian G. Lacey Educator Award, the district’s highest recognition. Sutterfield was also awarded a $1000 cash prize, a gift bag from Knowledge tree that included a $100 gift certificate and will receive a Dell Venue Pro that can be used as a tablet or a laptop.

Teachers representing every campus in the district were recognized during the gala. Level winners were also named and included High School Teacher of the Year Summer Vaught, Central High School, Middle School Teacher of the Year, Michelle Vire, Pulaski Heights Middle School, and Elementary School Teacher of the Year, Nathalie Massenelli. Level winners took home $500 each in cash prizes, Dell Chromebooks and gift bags from Knowledge Tree including $50 gift certificates.

Pictured (left to right): Nathalie Massenelli, Jefferson Elementary, Elementary School Teacher of the Year; Michelle Vire, Pulaski Heights Middle, Middle School Teacher of the Year; Spencer Sutterfield, Parkview Arts/Science Magnet High, 2015 Teacher of the Year & Marian G. Lacey Educator Award winner; and Summer Vaught, Central High, High School Teacher of the Year.

LRSD proudly salutes all of its teacher during next week’s Teacher Appreciation Week, May 4-8.

Elementary School Winners
Kimberley Washington—Bale Elementary
Latonya Jackson—Baseline Elementary
Deborah Ramsey—Booker Arts Magnet Elementary
LaRonda Murry—Brady Elementary
June Dewana Joseph—Carver Math-Science Magnet Elementary
Kristen Billings-Racanelli— Chicot Primary
Boyce Neal Pearson—Dodd Elementary
Kelly Gray—Fair Park Early Childhood Center
Gina Khoury— Forest Heights STEM Academy (K-5)
Lonnie C. Smith—Forest Park Elementary
Melvin Campbell, Jr.— Franklin Elementary
Micah Haupt—Fulbright Elementary
Elizabeth Clifford— Geyer Springs G&T Academy
Jocelyn Love— Gibbs Magnet School of International Studies and Foreign Languages
Nathalie Anne Massanelli—Jefferson Elementary
Connie Pesek—King Elementary
Chaley Holland—Mabelvale Elementary
Jennifer Grider—McDermott Elementary
Jherrithan M. Dukes—Meadowcliff Elementary
Melody J. Wyatt—Otter Creek Elementary
Sandra Fountain—Pulaski Heights Elementary
Jillane Johnson—Roberts Elementary
Kayleen Alumbaugh—Romine Elementary
Valerie Duckery—Stephens Elementary
Jill Wright—Terry Elementary
Kelly Burrus—Wakefield Elementary
Thelma P. Shorter—Washington Elementary
Rachael Gonzales—Watson Intermediate
Sharon A. Brashears—Western Hills Elementary
Barbara Strickland—Williams Magnet Elementary
Tianka R. Sheard—Wilson Elementary
Jennifer Elledge—Woodruff Early Childhood Center

Middle School Winners
Christopher Ishmon—Cloverdale Aerospace Technology Middle
L'akeia Lovelace— Cloverdale Aerospace Technology Middle
Kiah M. Eull— Dunbar G&T/International Studies Magnet Middle
Jason A. Raymond— Dunbar G&T/International Studies Magnet Middle
Gaibrielle Hoffman— Forest Heights STEM Academy (6-8)
Mario D. Tims— Forest Heights STEM Academy (6-8)
Teretha E. Kelly— Henderson Middle
Spiro-John Kikrilis— Henderson Middle
Christine A. Cannon— Mabelvale Middle
Matthew N. Farr— Mabelvale Middle
Paula Harris— Horace Mann Arts & Science Magnet Middle
Brittney Choat— Horace Mann Arts & Science Magnet Middle
Ardell Thomsen— Pulaski Heights Middle
Michelle Joslin Vire— Pulaski Heights Middle

High School Winners
June Dewana Joseph— Central High
Lori Schaffhauser— Central High
Rosie Valdez— Central High
Ashia Darnell-Jackson— J.A. Fair
Brenda Harrison— J.A. Fair
Judy A. Ward— J.A. Fair
Joe W. Green, Jr.— McClellan High
Michele Renee Brown— McClellan High
Katina Harper-Hill— McClellan High
Patrick Donovan— Parkview Arts & Science Magnet High
Michelle Jackson— Parkview Arts & Science Magnet High
Spencer Sutterfield— Parkview Arts & Science Magnet High

Non-Traditional School Winners
Rebecca Newberry— Accelerated Learning Center
Ginger C. Beck— Hamilton Learning Academy
Warren L. Booker, Jr.— Metropolitan Career Tech Center

Approximately 600 educators, families and public education supports, attended Monday evening’s star-studded affair. Sutterfield, the 2015 Teacher of the Year, will go on to represent the district in vying for the statewide Teacher of the Year title.