7 LRSD Destination Imagination Teams Going Global

Seven LRSD Destination Imagination (DI) teams are headed to the Global Finals, May 20-23, 2015, after strong finishes at regional and state competitions.

Two schools, Carver Magnet Elementary School and Dunbar Magnet Middle School, are sending two teams to the world’s largest celebration of creativity where more than 8,000 of the world’s most innovative minds compete in teams to showcase their talents. Other schools with teams headed to Globals are: Booker Magnet Elementary, Gibbs Magnet Elementary and Pulaski Heights Middle School.

Carver Math-Science Elementary School
The Carver Magnet Isms finished first in Challenge A, “Creature Feature,” in both Central Challenge and Instant Challenge. They also received the coveted Renaissance Award for their engineering and research skills. Team members are Rex Easter, Seth Hyatt, Karsyn Helms, Amberly Carter, Praharshita Mudunuri, Evan Birdwell, and Mallory Wilson.  

The Carver Magnet Bulldozers placed first place in Challenge E, “Lose to Win,” Team members are Pedro Najera, Alexandro Vazquez, Chancis Banks, Mitayah Rowland, Avery Clement, Lark Dupins, and Tristanu Clement.

A third Carver team placed fourth in the “Feary Tales” Challenge C.

Dunbar Gifted & Talented/International Studies Magnet Middle School
Dunbar’s “Lose to Win” Challenge Team placed first securing a place at the global level. Team members are: Peter Mouw, Devin Musselwhite-Branch, Tyler Buchanan, Saul Conception Jr., and Jason DeBoer

Dunbar’s “Creature Feature” challenge team placed 2nd but still qualified for Globals as a “wild card” selection. An honor reserved for teams with close 2nd place finishes. Team members are: John Swaim, Gabe Huggins, Jackson Turner and Andrew Helms (Mann). Team managers: Mrs. Anna Swaim

A third Dunbar team, the “Making Waves” challenge team placed second at the middle school level. Team members are: Aaron Beam, Clara Voth, Morgan Hibbard, Becket O’Brien, Milo Thompson, and Sam Triplett.

Booker Arts Magnet Elementary School
The Jackson Jaguars, placed first in the elementary division for the scientific problem, “Making Waves,” and will compete at the Global Finals. Team members are: Rebekah Jackson, Chandler Dean, Jordyn Jones, Kamryn Collins, Emily Ayres, Jack Lowe, and JD Lucas

Gibbs Magnet School of International Studies and Foreign Languages
The Gibbs Gets Creative placed first in the “Feary Tales” elementary level and will move on to Globals. Team members are: Hayden Kirby, Langston Keys, Jordyn Whitfield, Kamilla's Parker, Connor Hadden, Garett Hunt and Aspen James.

Pulaski Heights Middle School’s team, “Alpha Einsteins,” placed second in the “Lose to Win” Challenge E and secured a “wild card” invitation to compete at Globals. Team members are: Davis Ross, Kyndall Jackson, Emma Jackson, Lydia Maher, Joanne Liu, and Nate Hamilton.

Other LRSD schools which competed in the State Finals include: Forest Heights STEM Academy, Geyer Springs Gifted & Talented Academy, Williams Magnet Elementary School, Horace Mann Magnet Middle School, Mabelvale Middle School and Parkview High School.