ViPS Awards 2006

Little Rock School District Volunteers in Public Schools (ViPS) hosted its twenty-fourth annual district-wide volunteer recognition reception, "An Evening for the Stars, on Tuesday, April 25, 2006 from 5:30 until 7:30 p.m.

Over 400 LRSD volunteers, parents and staff attended this fun event at the Arkansas State Fairgrounds.

Volunteers in LRSD schools contributed a remarkable 588,932 hours of service between March 1, 2005 and February 28, 2006, representing a monetary value to the district of over $10,600,776.
Winners of the 2006 ViPS Awards:

Cathy Crass - Jane Mendel Award, ViPS' highest award

Mary Ross Thomas Champion Award for her lifetime of work with the Little Rock School District.

Louise Gutierrez - Leadership Award

Carmen Narvaez and Denise Nunnley - Parent Involvement Award

H. R. Thomas and Bill Arthurs - Mentor/Tutor Award

Mary Smith of Audubon Arkansas - Resource Volunteer Award

First United Methodist Church - Faith Award Catherine Gill and Miles Memorial CME Church - Faith Award

Westwood Neighborhood Association - Partners in Education Award
Metropolitan National Bank - Partners in Education

Debbie Carreiro, Myrna Olaya, Anita Smith and Jerry Worm - School Volunteer Award winners

Ann Blaylock- Secondary Administrator Award
Tyrone Harris Primary Administrator Award

Valerie Marks - Staff Award  

Marilyn Johnson - Secondary Educator Award
Kristianna Pittenger-Primary Educator Award

Marcus Kennedy, Brittany McGill, Tara and Tasha Rainey - Student Volunteer Award

This year's nominees were:

Bill Arthurs
Diane Barksdale
Ann Blaylock
Michelle Bonds-Hall
Ashley Brodnax
Dawn Buffington
Debbie Carreiro
Sabrina Chan
Cheryl Chapman
Conquer the Rock Team
Jason Crader
Cathy Crass
EFNEP Program of the U of A Cooperative Extension Service
First United Methodist Church
Forest Heights PTA and Diane Taylor
Darris Grant
Louise Gutierrez
John Hall
Mary Harden
Tyrone Harris
Mark Hodge
Raymond House
Immanuel Baptist Church
Jacquelyn Jackson
Marilyn Johnson
Karen Kennedy
Marcus Kennedy
Kristy Kidd
Kroger #615 and Roy Biles
Samuel Loya
Valerie Marks
Tammy Massey
Brittany McGill
Metropolitan National Bank
Catherine Gill and Miles Memorial C.M.E. Church,
Carmen Narvaez
Denise Nunnley
Myrna Olaya
Tamika Oliver
Vannessa Pace-Hampton
Heather Paddock
Boyce Pearson
Terry Phillips
Lora Piepergerdes
Kristianna Pittenger
Delia Prather
Deborah Price
Pulaski Technical College and Larry Lewallen
Susan Purvis
Rita Qualls
Tara and Tasha Rainey
Becky Ramsey
Raytheon Aircraft Company
and Mr. Cliff Normore and Ms. Arti Vanzandt
Rachel Redican
Wendell Redmond
Reba Faye Reynolds
Jennifer Roberts
Mary Ross Thomas
Paula Schilling
Terri Sinclair
Anita Smith
Mary Smith
Becki Streett
Jescena Sweat
Priscilla Tennal
HR Thomas
Jennifer Thomas
Angelia Thomasson PickensThrasher
Bernadette Turner
Lisa Walker
Sue Walls
Roz Warren
Kim Washington
Debra Webster
Alice Weeks
Westwood Neighborhood Association
Jerry Worm
Young Life of Little Rock