Two LRSD Teachers Named Presidential Award State Finalists

Two of the eight Arkansas teachers recently selected as state finalists for the 2015 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, are from the Little Rock School District. Congratulations to Central Science Teacher Mary Parson and Parkview Math Teacher Dennis Show.

The award program, administered by the National Science Foundation on behalf of the White House, recognizes outstanding teachers for their focus on professional development and use of innovative approaches and technology in the classroom. The finalists are eligible for a $10,000 award, a presidential citation, and a trip to Washington, DC, for a series of recognition events, professional development activities and an awards ceremony. 

Finalists were chosen from among 121 nominated teachers and will be recognized at luncheons hosted by the Arkansas Science Teachers Association and Arkansas Council of Teachers of Mathematics during the Arkansas Curriculum Conference Nov. 5 and 6.

Each year a national committee of distinguished scientists, mathematicians and educators recommends up to 108 teachers to receive the award. Educators are selected from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. territories as a group, and the schools operated in the United States and overseas by the Department of Defense Education Activity.

The White House recently announced 2013 winners. To learn more, go to