LRSD Civic Advisory Committee


LRSD CAC Final Report, May 2016


After a consensus among its members, the LRSD Civic Advisory Committee has changed its meeting dates to the fourth Thursday of each month.  This schedule will be followed unless the dates occur during  holidays and graduation ceremonies.  The meetings will be held at 5 p.m. in the LRSD Administration Building, 810 W. Markham.  The role of the LRSD Civic Advisory Committee is to review the progress of the LRSD in meeting established goals to be removed from state authority. The LRSD Civic Advisory Committee will make recommendations for communication of data to the general public and stakeholders of the LRSD.

Seven zone representatives and two philanthropic organizations were identified to serve on the LRSD Civic Advisory Committee following a selection process in March that included state legislators from Little Rock School District boundaries. A subsequent decision was made to add community member Greg Adams to serve in a co-chair capacity with Dionne Jackson.  These members will help comprise the committee (legislators selected one additional philanthropic organization from the original applicants) that will also consist of two students and two teachers from each of the six LRSD schools with academic distress designations.

LRSD CAC Statement on Expansion of Charter Schools within LRSD Boundary

The zone members and philanthropic organizations appointed in 2015 were:

Zone 1
Joy Springer

Zone 2
Anika Whitfield

Zone 3
Peter Gess

Zone 4
Dionne B. Jackson

Zone 5
John L. Wilkerson

Zone 6
Marq Golden

 Zone 7
Brenda "BJ" Wyrick

Greg Adams

Philanthropic Organizations
         Little Rock Public Education Foundation - Eugene Levy
         Arkansas Hunger Relief Alliance - Kathy Webb

Teachers include:

Baseline Elementary School

Deborah Cavener
Latonya Jackson

Updated Teacher Representation at Baseline as of (September 7, 2015)
Tamika Jordan
Nanette Patino

Cloverdale Middle School

Brooke Sanders
Yasmine Butte

Henderson Middle School

Sandra Ledbetter
Tiffani Jones

Fair High School

Sharon Jackson
Fred Dickins

Hall High School

Liz Lucker
Tracy Mason

McClellan High School

Seketa Ross
Deborah Hansberry

Student Representation

Two students from each of the six academically distressed schools listed above. 

The superintendent and LRSD staff will make presentations of data to the LRSD Civic Advisory Committee for consideration. The LRSD will provide staff support to the committee. A written agenda and minutes of each meeting will be posted monthly on the LRSD website. Transportation of the student committee members will be provided by the district. No stipend, salary, fees membership, or travel reimbursement will be provided to committee members.

Additional information regarding meetings of the LRSD Civic Advisory Committee will be posted on the district's website. 


You're Invited to Upcoming Community Forums

Spanish interpreters and childcare will be provided. Click on the following link to see additional dates and locations for future forums.  We hope to see you!

Please visit our Community Forum page with schedule