And the Awards Keep Rolling In - Congrats to the 2013 National Merit Semifinalists!

The Little Rock School District is proud to  share the great news about the district’s newest National Merit Semifinalists! Ten students from Little Rock Central High now have this proud distinction.   Please congratulate: 

David H. Chen
Arhita Dasgupta
Clayton B. Gentry
Joshua E. Hammons
Steven L. Hulsey
Patrick C. Kellycooper
Emilio A. Nunez-Garcia
Anna W. Parker
Andrew M. Ricciardone
Leigh G. Wills

Central’s honorees represent one of only eight schools in the Little Rock area, including students in the home-schooled category, who have been selected.

About the National Merit Semi Finalist Program:  about 1.5 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2011 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state. The number of Semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and their high school must submit a detailed scholarship application in which they provide information about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, and honors and awards received.  A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.  The 2013 National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April.

We are so proud of our students!