About Us

Volunteers in Public Schools

CLICK to watch ViPS History Video

2018-19 ViPS Board of Directors:  

(Front row, lt-to-rt) Denise Persons; Conley Golden; Rita Qualls; Ginny Belotti, ViPS Board President; Greta Freeman; Mike Poore, LRSD Superintendent; Nell Matthews; (Back row) Pam Smith; Charlene Kirk; Jackie Merrell, ViPS staff; Lea Glenns; Anne Solomon; Teresa Gordon; Shun Coates; Susan Blue; Sandra Hatley; Eric Higgins; Denise Ennett; Kaye Rainey; Andrea Lewis; Tammy Blaylock, ViPS staff; Louis Portlock. Not pictured: Bettye Baxter; Ginny Blankenship; Kathryn Buril; Jennifer Glasgow; Katie Hargis; Tyrone Harris; Sandra Hatley; Mark McGraw; WJ Monagle; and Jamie Scott.

The Jane Mendel Award is given in honor of Jane Mendel (right) who led the efforts to establish the Little Rock School District ViPS program. It is the district's highest accolade in recognition of volunteer service. Established in 1983, The Jane Mendel Award is presented annually to an LRSD volunteer whose district commitment expands years of service, demonstrates a diversity of leader-ship roles, and has made a significant impact on multiple schools or the entire district.  

Jane Mendel Award Recipients


The Champion Award highlights individuals who have provided significant contributions and volunteer services to the Little Rock School District so unique they are deemed a true champion of children. 

Wendell Redmond


After retiring from middle school teaching, Mr. Redmond has been volunteering as a tutor and mentor for almost 20 years.


Jason Crader, 2017

Jason was recognized for his extraordinary commitment to the district's Mathletes program and his volunteer service at Carver Elementary.

Greta Freeman, 2016

 In recognition of her outstanding work and support of the LR PTA Council and local units throughout the district.



Craig O'Neill, 2013: In recognition of 40+ years of service to the Little Rock School District, volunteering in the classroom as well as district-wide events. Also pictured, ViPS Board members Bettye Baxter and Gerry Rayford.
Rachel Morse, Suzi James and Patty Evans, 2008: In recognition of their years of district volunteer service and their dedicated focus on mentoring programs at the middle school level.

Mary Ross Thomas, 2006:

Recognized for 45 years of service as a district volunteer with a commitment to weekly tutoring.

Coach Clyde Horton, 2005  

Recognized for his inspiring attitude and ability to teach champion athletes the importance of respect and moral character.

John Riggs, 1999

Recognized for his involvement with Partners in Education and service as an LRSD School Board member and Board President.